Uncategorized

potential destination.

I’m not one for making resolutions for a new year (it’s stupid and I break them within days), but decided in December that 2010 would be the year that I would travel outside the US. I wasn’t so much concerned with where I would go so much as whether I would go anywhere at all. I pretty much gave up on my dream of getting out of the country anytime soon until a few weeks ago. I must admit that my current living situation is less than desirable, but as I have yet to land somewhere permanently, decided to take full advantage of the situation and save up money to travel abroad. I’m just not ready to settle into a fixed life with a job (might not have to worry about that in this market), an apartment (though I love to decorate), and everything else that goes along with being a real adult.

Anyway…I’m not looking to simply visit a country, although that alone would be nice. As I mentioned in my first entry, I’m looking to work abroad, preferably in human rights or a related field. I’ve spent the last few days researching non-profits and NGOs, and have found one in Morocco that appeals. I’ve applied for a long-term internship, and am waiting to hear back. If it doesn’t pan out, I’ll look for other NGOs in the area. If that doesn’t work out, I’ll look to for teaching jobs. The funny thing about the developing world is that nearly everyone is looking to learn English. Heh. The teaching thing is really a last resort, though.

Here’s one of my top destinations:

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

twitter

Blog Stats

  • 21,872 hits
