Contests & Giveaways

GoLite | Travel Gear Giveaway

Considering that Wanderlu5t is primarily a travel blog, it was only a matter of time before I held a travel-themed giveaway, right? 😀

I had the opportunity to review two products from GoLite,  an outdoor sports and travel gear company that focuses on “traveling lite” and using products that promote sustainability and environmental conservation. I think this quote from the GoLite website sums their mission up pretty well:

Corporate responsibility has been part of GoLite’s ethos since our founding in 1998, and we are committed to building a sustainable business. We are following a multi-year, metrics-based path to sustainability, striving to eliminate or mitigate 100% of our environmental footprint and be a model company in how we treat our people and community.

They very generously sent me the TravelLite Backpack in  Coriander, and the GoLite Wheeled Carry-On bag in Pinot to review here on Wanderlu5t. The Carry-On retails for $175, and the Backpack retails for $100. Both are made of recycled material (I love that!), and despite their compact appearance, can hold quite a bit.

Let’s start with the Carry-On.

I prefer to travel light, even on extended trips. I really don’t like being burdened with a ton of bags and a heavy backpack or purse, especially since I tend to pack at the last minute and have to RUN through several terminals to make my flights.   I’m an ace at planning trips and findng good travel deals, but don’t expect to see an entry here about sticking to a schedule, lol. Also, I don’t like paying $25 and up for checked bags, so being able to fit as much as I can into one bag helps.  I was instantly smitten with my new  Carry-On the second it arrived. It’s so small and unimposing, yet I can fit my makeup, toiletries, and a few outfits in the lower compartment, and still manage to fit a few more things in the upper compartment.

It also has two smaller, zippered compartments on the front, which are big enough for storing books, medication, or  snacks.

Although it is a rolling bag, it can double as a backpack, which, for me, makes it far and away better than what I’ve used in the past.  The backpack feature frees up space in checked bags for souvenirs and such,  or arms, for racing through huge airports.

Overall, it’s one of the best suitcases/bags I’ve ever come across, and I look forward to taking it on my next trip.

On to the TravelLite Backpack. Being my only serviceable backpack, my old North Face backpack is my go-to carry-on bag, but it’s bulky, and evenputting a book or two and some snacks in it makes it even heavier than it already is. Testing out the TravelLite yielded a different result, however. I put books, DVDs, and a few snacks in it, and it didn’t get heavy! I could walk around with it on without feeling like I was dragging a load of bricks, something I can’t do with a full North Face bag.

 

I think I’ve found a permanent replacement for my North Face backpack. I’m also in love with the front compartments, which my North Face doesn’t have. It’s a great bag overall. Both bags are great, and I want my dear Wanderlu5t readers to have a shot of winning one! GoLite has graciously agreed to send a bag to one of my readers. The contest will run from today, December 1, 2010, to January 5, 2011.

 

There are several ways to enter:

Follow my new Twitter account for Wanderlu5t (@wanderlu5t) . 1 entry

Leave me a comment and tell me what three GoLite products you like. 1 entry

RT “@wanderlu5t is giving away  GoLite travel gear” 2 entries

Get 3 friends to subscribe to Wanderlu5t. 3 entries

Get 5 friends to subscribe to Wanderlu5t. 5 entries

Get 10 friends to subscribe to Wanderlu5t. 10 entries

 

Privacy is important, so if you or your friends sign up for updates from Wanderlu5t, please send me an e-mail containing the e-mail addresses @ girlandth3city [a t] yahoo [.] com

 

Good luck, and a million thanks to GoLite and Scott from Outside PR!

 

Discussion

44 thoughts on “GoLite | Travel Gear Giveaway

  1. Awesome giveaway! I’m following your new wanderlu5t Twitter feed.

    Posted by Suburban Sweetheart | December 1, 2010, 8:44 pm
  2. And now that I’m browsing GoLite’s site, ohhhh my goodness. THEY HAVE SO MUCH GOOD STUFF. Favorites (so far) include:
    – Castle Peak Zonal Insulated Parka in cement
    – TraveLite Tote in coriander
    – TraveLite Messenger Bag in black

    I feel like I could keep going. This is just a start! Thanks a lot for introducing me to a new site to drool over…

    Posted by Suburban Sweetheart | December 1, 2010, 8:46 pm
  3. I like the
    TraveLite Wheeled Carry-On
    Lite-Speed
    Quest

    Posted by Mary Preston | December 2, 2010, 5:54 am
  4. My three favorites are:
    – TraveLite Wheeled Carry-On in Coriander
    – Wind River Softshell Jacket in Dark Walnut/Cement
    – Dartmoor Longsleeve Travel Tee in Garnet Red

    They are all so great!

    Posted by Rebecca | December 2, 2010, 9:39 am
  5. I would choose the Hydro Clutch the Messenger bag and the lite tote….but those are hard decisions….need to find something nice for my trip in january! Thanks for the chance to win.

    dan_jody at live.com

    Posted by Jody John | December 2, 2010, 9:59 am
  6. I checked out their website and I love (among other things):
    1. Women’s Wildwood Trail Longsleeve 1/4-Zip Run Top (in blue, please)
    2. Women’s Cottonwood Spaghetti Strap Run Tank
    3. Cottonwood Racerback Run Tank

    (actually just all the trail running gear—so inspiring, makes me want to get out there!)

    catherine(dot)alley(at)gmail(Dot)com

    Posted by Callie | December 2, 2010, 12:58 pm
  7. I follow u on twitter- kgail11

    Posted by Kim | December 2, 2010, 5:56 pm
  8. I really like their HydroSprint, Shangri-La and the Travelite Tote.
    bebemiqui82(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Posted by Sara B. | December 2, 2010, 6:00 pm
  9. – Castle Peak Zonal Insulated Parka in cement
    – TraveLite Tote in coriander
    – TraveLite Messenger Bag in black

    I could choose more, but I guess I should stop!

    Posted by Laura | December 2, 2010, 9:55 pm
  10. I like these 3 GoLite products:
    TraveLite Wheeled Carry-On
    TraveLite Convertible Carry-On
    TraveLite Messenger Bag

    Posted by Angie | December 5, 2010, 10:24 am
  11. I’m such a sucker for bags. I love ’em! I do adore that CarryOn, but 3 of my other favorites are:

    1. TraveLite Messenger Bag
    2. TraveLite Tote
    3. TraveLite Convertible Carry-On

    I like their hydration packs too. We bike a lot in the summer and I’m going to have to invest in one.

    seeryusfam@msn.com

    Posted by Sky | December 7, 2010, 2:11 pm
  12. Following on Twitter @SeeryusMama

    seeryusfam@msn.com

    Posted by Sky | December 7, 2010, 2:11 pm
  13. Oh my gosh, they have so many amazing products! It’s hard to pick just a few…here’s three that I’d love to have…
    1. Tumalo Pertex 2.5-Layer Storm Jacket
    2. Backcountry Litespeed Bag
    3. TravelLite Tote

    Posted by ag. | December 8, 2010, 11:22 pm
  14. I am following you on twitter 🙂

    The products are so nice! I like:
    -The Convertible Carry-On in Pinot
    -The Messenger Bag in Coriander
    -The Stelvio 1/3 Zip Travel Sweater in Cement (in case they give away anything besides bags)

    Thanks for sharing this product!

    Posted by Tara | December 9, 2010, 12:47 am
  15. I like
    – Castle Peak Zonal Insulated Parka in cement
    – TraveLite Tote in coriander
    – TraveLite Messenger Bag in black

    Posted by James Davis | December 12, 2010, 9:34 pm
  16. Follow my new Twitter account for Wanderlu5t (@wanderlu5t) . 1 entry

    nolagirl727@yahoo.com

    Posted by rebekah | December 29, 2010, 6:03 am
  17. Leave me a comment and tell me what three GoLite products you like. 1 entry
    The Convertible Carry-On in Pinot
    -The Messenger Bag in Coriander
    -The Stelvio 1/3 Zip Travel Sweater

    nolagirl727@yahoo.com

    Posted by rebekah | December 29, 2010, 6:03 am
  18. RT “@wanderlu5t is giving away GoLite travel gear” 2 entries
    nolagirl727@yahoo.com

    Posted by rebekah | December 29, 2010, 6:04 am
  19. RT “@wanderlu5t is giving away GoLite travel gear” 2 entries
    nolagirl727@yahoo.com

    2

    Posted by rebekah | December 29, 2010, 6:06 am
  20. I like the messenger bag, the sports water bottle, and the terrino backpack
    Great giveaway!

    Posted by Rachel | January 1, 2011, 12:56 pm
  21. follow you on twitter
    valerie2350

    Posted by valerie | January 4, 2011, 2:10 am
  22. 1) Tumalo Pertex® 2.5-Layer Storm Jacket
    2) Wildwood Trail Longsleeve 1/4-Zip Run Top
    3) Rush Hydration Pack
    🙂

    Posted by valerie | January 4, 2011, 2:12 am
  23. I am following on twitter @annedoggett

    Posted by Annette D | January 4, 2011, 10:12 am
  24. I really like the TraveLite Messenger Bag in black!

    Posted by Annette D | January 4, 2011, 10:13 am
  25. got three friends to subscribe!

    nolagirl727@yahoo.com

    Posted by rebekah | January 4, 2011, 2:32 pm
  26. got three friends to subscribe!

    nolagirl727@yahoo.com

    2

    Posted by rebekah | January 4, 2011, 2:32 pm
  27. got three friends to subscribe!

    nolagirl727@yahoo.com

    3

    Posted by rebekah | January 4, 2011, 2:33 pm
  28. twitter follower phxbne

    Posted by phxbne | January 4, 2011, 5:25 pm
  29. Rush hydrate in red, Tumalo Pertex® 2.5-Layer Storm Jacket in granite, TraveLite 25” Wheeled Upright in black/pinot

    Posted by phxbne | January 4, 2011, 5:28 pm
  30. I am following you on twitter @mrsitnareynolds

    Posted by tina reynolds | January 4, 2011, 10:51 pm
  31. I love the Adrenaline 3-Season Mummy – Regular for my hubby and the Adventure 3-Season Mummy – Regular for my self my third favorite is the Arcadia 3 thanks so so much for the chacne to win eaglesforjack@gmail.com

    Posted by tina reynolds | January 4, 2011, 10:55 pm
  32. Follow your new Twitter account for Wanderlu5t (@wanderlu5t)

    (mickeycoutts)

    Posted by Mickey Coutts | January 4, 2011, 11:43 pm
  33. I love these three GoLite products:
    Terrono – 85L in sun/grease
    Rush in pinot/smoke
    the 21 oz Biodegradable Sport Bottle

    Posted by Mickey Coutts | January 4, 2011, 11:46 pm
  34. Retweet: #1

    Posted by Mickey Coutts | January 4, 2011, 11:47 pm
  35. Retweet: #2

    Posted by Mickey Coutts | January 4, 2011, 11:47 pm
  36. I got 5 friends to subscribe and e-mailed you with their names. #1

    Posted by Mickey Coutts | January 4, 2011, 11:56 pm
  37. I got 5 friends to subscribe and e-mailed you with their names. #2

    Posted by Mickey Coutts | January 4, 2011, 11:56 pm
  38. I got 5 friends to subscribe and e-mailed you with their names. #3

    Posted by Mickey Coutts | January 4, 2011, 11:56 pm
  39. I got 5 friends to subscribe and e-mailed you with their names. #4

    Posted by Mickey Coutts | January 4, 2011, 11:57 pm
  40. I got 5 friends to subscribe and e-mailed you with their names. #5

    Posted by Mickey Coutts | January 4, 2011, 11:57 pm
  41. I like the travelite backpack.

    Posted by JRG | January 5, 2011, 5:07 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: potd: bangladesh. « - December 28, 2010

Leave a Reply

twitter

Blog Stats

  • 21,872 hits
