Personal

my travel goals for 2011.

I’m not one for making New Year’s resolutions, as I, like most people, usually forget about them about a week after pledging to change something I pledged to change in years past. Most people tend to be unrealistic about them, and once the reality of this hits them, they give it up. I am not immune to this, which is why my 2004 resolution of never making another New Year’s resolution actually worked.  However, I do feel that the debut of a new year is a chance for a fresh start, to set goals for myself, change my perspectives, and forget the negatives of the previous year.

Still, I do have an innate need to adhere to rituals, so I set a theme to live by every year. In 2009, it was “ambition”, and which was also the theme for 2010. This year, it’s”growth”.  I need a change or two  in my life. A big one. Things have stagnated to the point where I feel like I’m in my fifties instead of my mid-twenties.  I feel as though I need to grow personally and professionally this year, and by leaps and bounds. I’m not seeking perfection, but something a lot like it. Part of this growth involves having more experiences, and for me, getting out and seeing new places fits the bill perfectly. I like to travel, but always let other things get in the way of going somewhere new and having a new experience, but that’s coming to an end. I’ve made a few travel  a priority this year, despite being on a limited budget. I can make it work. 😀

My travel goals for 2011 are quite simple.

In no particular order:

1. Visit NYC. I’ve always been interested in visiting NYC, and kind of like the idea of getting a grad degree at NYU, but I’ve never been. That will change this year.

2. Spend more time abroad. I suspect that one of the reasons I have so much trouble keep my audience entertained is because I don’t have  9,000 photos and stories from my globetrotting exploits like other travel bloggers do, and it kind of hurts the blog. I need to get out beyond America’s borders and experience something foreign. I’m hoping to accomplish this by year’s end. It’s important to me to do these things before I get too old or too busy or lose interest in them altogether. While I like the idea of settling down, finding a nice condo with high vaulted ceilings and French doors, and decorating it with Moroccan-inspired furniture and modern rugs, the fact of the matter is that I have some things I’d like to do first. I’m not ready to settle in one place yet, working a 9-5 that won’t let me travel but once or twice a year. That’s for later in life. I’m very much about experiencing certain things NOW.

3. Visit at least  five states, including Alaska and Hawaii. I think this is very doable, being that I currently live in the U.S., and domestic travel is surprisingly afforable right now. I think Alaska and Hawaii will be a little more difficult to do, but I think I can pull it off.

Those are my (travel) goals this for this year. What are yours? Please share in the comments below!

Discussion

One thought on “my travel goals for 2011.

  1. You can do it and so much more. Put a plan into action. Set dates. Find ways to do it for free. Accumulate frequent flyer miles and hotel points the unconventional way. Already got a passport? That’s step one! And if you need any travel tips or advice, I’d be glad to help! 🙂

    Posted by April Thompson | February 10, 2011, 1:23 pm

Leave a Reply

twitter

Blog Stats

  • 21,872 hits
